Production Credits

Mark Cooley
Derek Ellis
Ryan Griffis

Mark Cooley
Derek Ellis
Ryan Griffis
John Harlow

Mark Cooley
Ryan Griffis

Assistant Editors
Celia Cooley
Derek Ellis
Elizabeth Hall
John Harlow

Art Direction
Mark Cooley
Ryan Griffis

Graphics & Animations
Mark Cooley
Ryan Griffis

Original Music
Mark Cooley
Stephen Balgooyen

Sound Design
Mark Cooley

Sound Assistant
Celia Cooley

Online Content
Mark Cooley
Ryan Griffis
John Harlow


Dawn Neptune Adams
Penobscot Activist & Filmmaker

Jeffery P. Beck, PhD
Historian & Professor

Maulian Dana
Penobscot Nation Ambassador & Wabanaki Alliance President

Barry Dana
Former Chief, Penobscot Nation

James Eric Francis
Director of Cultural and Historic Preservation, Penobscot Nation

Zach Heiden
Chief Counsel @ ACLU of Maine

Dave McKenna
Sports Journalist, Washington City Paper, Deadspin, & Defector

John Bear Mitchell, PhD
Penobscot Historian & Professor

Jesse Steinfeldt, PhD, CMPC
Sports Psychologist & Professor

Dwayne Tomah
Cultural Preservationist, Passamaquoddy Nation

Mike Wise
Sports Journalist, New York Times, Washington Post & ESPN

About the Filmmakers

Mark Cooley: Director, Writer, Producer, Videography, Editor, Animations & Graphics, Music.
Mark Cooley grew up in Maine and now lives in Virginia where he is a professor of new media and eco-art. Mark’s works as an artist, musician and filmmaker have been exhibited, screened, and performed internationally in venues such as Exit Art, NYC; FADO Performance Art Centre, Toronto; St. Louis Science Center; MediaLabMadrid, Spain; Anthology Film Archives, NYC; The Phillips, D.C; and The Institute of Contemporary Art, London.

Derek Ellis: Director, Writer, Producer, Videography, Assistant Editor.
A lifelong resident of central Maine, Derek Ellis is a Maine Guide, Local 349 Union member, and a former MSAD#54 school board member. Derek co-directed the short film 10 Mile Yard Sale, which was an official selection in the 2018 Maine International Film Festival and can be seen in rotation on Maine Public Television.

Ryan Griffis: Writer, Editor, Videography, Animations & Graphics.
Ryan Griffis is an artist, educator, and faculty member at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. He works across media on stories about the intersections of social and environmental justice. “Between the Bottomlands & the World,” a multimedia documentary about the environmental and social impacts of a large slaughterhouse in a small Illinois river town has been exhibited in universities and cultural spaces across the US. “The Earth Will Not Abide,” an exhibition on land use and resource extraction premiered at the University of Illinois Chicago in 2017 before traveling to additional venues in Carbondale (IL), Portland (OR), and Rosario (Argentina).

John Harlow: Videography, Assistant Editor
John Harlow was born in 1989 in Waterville Maine and currently lives in Skowhegan. John studied New Media Art at the University of Maine Farmington. He is the Station Manager of Somerset Community TV and a staff member at Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture. John Has exhibited documentary photography work in galleries and museums across the state of Maine.

Thank You

We sincerely thank the following individuals for their financial support in making this film possible.

Dan Jenkins
Cynthia Levy
Nancy Herrington
Susan Bell
Wyatt Bourgeault
Ruth Darlington
Angie Nightingale
Lawrence Koplik
Elizabeth Crofts
Terri Oliver Crabbe
Ruth Miale
Mary E LaValley
Craig Stevens
Andrew Howard
Janet Benjamin
Molly Rideout
Katherine Rideout
Peter Stowell
Peter Zack
Cheryl Knight
Rebecca Hunt
George Gecewicz
Michael Prescott
Jeff Bailey
Jason Dropik
Elizabeth Crofts
Kristina Gossman
Arla Patch
Gretchen Baker-Smith
Suzanne Krull
Katherine Kely
L. Scott Carrino
Laura English
Kristoffer Ross
Deborah Velto
Arifa Boehler
Lynne Azarchi
Nancy White
John Kane
Ryan Dalton
Erin Corrigan
Jennifer Anderson
Arifa Boehler
Cicely Smith
Joan Doyle
Gretchen Baker-Smith
David Ehrens
David C Sysko
Daria Cullen
Marguerite Dingman
Jenifer Almond
Kim Lanese
Mary E LaValley
Rachel Wise
JJ Sargent
Martha A. Hunter
Lynda Pibus
Kathryn Lopez
Deborah Kalina
Shirley Hager
Dellie James
Elizabeth Crofts
Robert Sweeney

Tamsin Flanders
Monique Jourdan
Christopher Poulin
Sky Suslov
River Branch
Deborah Velto
Kristina Gossman
Charles McGillicuddy
Erin Sheehan
Jeffrey Beck
Bette Anterra
Adelle Belanger
Abigail Norling
Katherine Wilder
Jeffrey Beck
Richard Stafford
Robert K. Purks